Letter of Understanding

Between

Wilfrid Laurier University

And the

Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty Association

Whereas Article 15.5.2 of the Collective Agreement for Full-time Faculty and Professional Librarians states that:

the Senate Promotion and Tenure Committee shall consist of 7 voting members and the Vice-President: Research and the Academic Director: Teaching Excellence and Innovation, and an Equity Representative pursuant to 22.2.6(c) as non-voting members. The voting members are: the Vice-President: Academic, who shall chair the committee; the Dean of the Member's academic unit; and 5 tenured Faculty Members to be elected for 2-year terms by the University Faculty Council. An academic unit shall have no more than one elected Faculty Member on the Committee. In addition, the University Faculty Council shall elect, on the same basis as the elected members, 5 tenured Faculty Members as alternates, to serve for the remainder of the academic year, in the event that an elected Faculty Member is unable to carry out required Committee responsibilities. No Faculty Member shall be a member of the Senate Promotion and Tenure Committee during the academic year in which they are to be considered for promotion.

The Parties recognize that where Members of equity deserving groups are under consideration for tenure and promotion, if the member desires, then the AVP Equity Diversity and Inclusion and/or AVP Indigenous Initiatives or their designate may be included on the SPAT committee as non-voting members, to provide support and expertise on the Member's application.

All Members under consideration for Tenure and Promotion will be made aware of this option and will advise Faculty Relations of their wish to expand the committee as described above, if desired.

| On behalf of Wilfrid Laurier University | | |
|---|------|--|
| Deborah MacLatchy, President | Date | |
| On behalf of WLU Faculty Association | | |
| Rob Kristofferson, President, WLUFA | Date | |